Hahnemann makes record-setting start against Dallas

Hahnemann makes record-setting start against Dallas

Over 14 years since leaving MLS for Europe, Hahnemann will start for Seattle at CenturyLink Field

SEATTLE – 5,153 days.

That’s the time between MLS starts for Sounders FC goalkeeper Marcus Hahnemann as he makes his first league start for Sounders FC on Saturday night against FC Dallas at CenturyLink Field.

On June 26, 1999, Hahnemann started his final game for the Colorado Rapids, shutting out the Chicago Fire in a 2-0 victory before heading off to England to play with Fulham in the Premier League. He went on to play for Rochdale, Reading, Wolverhampton and Everton before returning to the states to play with Seattle last year. A hamstring prevented him from making his first league start for Seattle earlier in the year, as Michael Gspurning is recovering from a forearm injury that has had him out of action since July 13.

Hahnemann surpasses Carlos Bocanegra for the league record for time between MLS starts, surpassing the Chivas USA defender who made his return to the field after nine years, eight months and 22 days. Hahnemann had a full 1,600 days more between his two starts than Bocanegra.

Hahnemann will play behind a defense of DeAndre Yedlin, Patrick Ianni, Djimi Traore and Leo Gonzalez. The midfield in Sigi Schmid’s starting XI will be Mauro Rosales on the right, Lamar Neagle on the left and a central pairing of Osvaldo Alonso and Brad Evans.

Eddie Johnson returns to the starting lineup at forward after missing the last two matches while on international duty with the U.S. National Team. He will partner up top with Obafemi Martins, who had two assists last week in a 2-1 win over Chivas USA.

Seattle’s bench will be Andrew Weber, Zach Scott, Jhon Kennedy Hurtado, Marc Burch, Servando Carrasco, Andy Rose and Eriq Zavaleta.

The lineup for FC Dallas is goalkeeper Raul Fernandez; defenders Zach Loyd, George John, Matt Hedges and Jair Benitez; a midfield of Je-Vaughn Watson, Andrew Jacobson, Jackson and David Ferreira; and forwards Fabian Castillo and Blas Perez.

The Dallas bench is Chris Seitz, Michel, Kellyn Acosta, Kenny Cooper, Mauro Diaz, Stephen Keel and Ramon Nunez.