Technical Rehearsal Image

Tickets available for July 4 CONCACAF Gold Cup at Qwest Field

The U.S. Men’s National Team roster features Sounders FC Midfielder Brad Evans.

RENTON , WASH. The two-time defending champion USA will play a first-round match of the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup on Saturday, July 4, American Independence Day, on the Xbox Pitch at Qwest Field. Tickets and event information are available at, and

Sounders FC midfielder Brad Evans will join the national team for training next week in Seattle. The U.S. faces Grenada in its first Gold Cup group match on July 4 at Qwest Field. Kickoff is 6 p.m. PT. That game is preceded in the doubleheader with a match featuring Honduras and Haiti at 4 p.m. PT.

The 2009 Gold Cup will be the second hosted by Qwest Field. In 2005, the U.S. defeated Cuba, 4-1, and Canada, 2-0, at Qwest Field in the first two match days en route to the quarterfinals. The U.S. went on to win the 2005 Gold Cup.

The tournament will use the same format as in 2005 and 2007, with the 12-team field divided into three four-team groups. The top two teams from each group will advance to the quarterfinals along with the two best third-place teams.

Competition will begin when Central American foes and World Cup hopefuls Costa Rica and El Salvador face off in an opening doubleheader on Friday, July 3 at The Home Depot Center in Los Angeles, highlighting the first day of the 10th edition of the 12-team championship. The Gold Cup finals will be played on Sunday, July 26, at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

U.S. ROSTER BY POSITION - Detailed roster at

GOALKEEPERS (3): Jon Busch (Chicago Fire), Troy Perkins (IK Start), Luis Robles (FC Kaiserslautern)

DEFENDERS (7): Steve Cherundolo (Hannover 96), Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards), Clarence Goodson (IK Start), Jay Heaps (New England Revolution), Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew), Michael Parkhurst (FC Nordsjaellands), Heath Pearce (Hansa Rostock)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Davy Arnaud (Kansas City Wizards), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Colin Clark (Colorado Rapids), Sam Cronin (Toronto FC), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Stuart Holden (Houston Dynamo), Logan Pause (Chicago Fire), Robbie Rogers (Columbus Crew)

FORWARDS (5): Freddy Adu (AS Monaco), Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo), Kenny Cooper (FC Dallas), Charlie Davies (Hammarby IF), Santino Quaranta (D.C. United)