Corky Trewin

Clint Dempsey, Brad Evans & DeAndre Yedlin Called Into U.S. National Team

RENTON, Wash. - Seattle Sounders FC midfielders Clint Dempsey and Brad Evans and defender DeAndre Yedlin have been called into the U.S. Men's National Team to train in Phoenix prior to the USA-Mexico match on April 2 at University of Phoenix Stadium.

Kickoff for the USA's final match before the start of the 2014 FIFA World Cup preparation camp is set for 8 p.m. PT, and the match will be broadcast live on ESPN, WatchESPN, UniMas and ESPN Deportes Radio Network.

The captain of the national team, Dempsey has 102 caps (T-10th) and ranks second all-time with 36 goals. He played 90 minutes in a 2-0 loss at Ukraine on March 5, and scored a career-high six goals with two assists in 10 appearances in 2013.

Evans has 17 caps and one goal for the national team. He participated the team's January camp and played 73 minutes in the 2-0 win against Korea on February 1. Evans has started at right back in eight of the last nine games for which he was available, including five World Cup Qualifiers.

Yedlin, 20, participated in the team's January camp and earned his first cap in the friendly against Korea, playing the final 17 minutes as a second-half substitute. Yedlin also participated in the 2013 U.S. U-20 World Cup and started all three matches of the tournament.

All three players will depart for Phoenix following Saturday's match against the Columbus Crew at CenturyLink Field, and will return for the April 5 Cascadia Cup match against the Portland Timbers.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (8): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Michael Orozco (Puebla), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

FORWARDS (4): Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Eddie Johnson (D.C. United), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)