Roldan vs NE 150225

Preseason Match Six: Sounders FC 1 – New England Revolution 2

Sounders FC fell 2-1 to the New England Revolution Thursday night in its third match of the 2015 Desert Diamond Cup at Kino Sports Complex. Seattle struck early with a fourth minute goal by Kenny Cooper, but surrendered two second-half goals, including a stoppage-time penalty by the Revs’ Charlie Davies.

With Seattle fielding a reserve lineup in the first half against a near-first choice New England lineup, the Rave Green got on the board early when Cooper got on the end of a low cross from Darwin Jones and converted a sliding finish.

That lead would last until the 47th minute when the Revs benefited from a Seattle own goal after Damion Lowe mis-cleared a cross into his own net. In second half stoppage time, New England was awarded a penalty kick after Zach Scott was whistled for a foul on former-Sounder Sean Okoli. Davies converted the penalty past Troy Perkins moments before the final whistle.

New England played with 10 men for the last 30 minutes of play after Tyler Rudy was issued a straight red card in the 60th minute.

Sounders FC concludes the 2015 Desert Diamond Cup on Saturday, February 28. Time and opponent will be determined following the conclusion of tonight’s action.


Seattle Sounders FC 1 – New England Revolution 2

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Venue: Kino Sports Complex (Tucson, Ariz.)

Weather: Mostly sunny and 64 degrees


SEA – Kenny Cooper (Darwin Jones) 4’

NE – Own Goal (Damion Lowe) 47’

NE – Charlie Davies (penalty) 90+’


SEA – Darwin Jones (caution) 42’

NE – Diego Fagundez (caution) 44’

SEA – Cristian Roldan (caution) 59’

NE – Tyler Rudy (ejection) 60’

SEA – Damion Lowe (caution) 74’


Seattle Sounders FC: Troy Perkins; Oniel Fisher, Jimmy Ockford (Damion Lowe 46’), Zach Scott, Andres Correa; Kenny Cooper, Andy Rose, Cristian Roldan, Darwin Jones (Aaron Kovar 46’); Chad Barrett, Kevin Parsemain (Dylan Remick 80’).

Substitutes not used: Charlie Lyon, Brad Evans, Micheal Azira, Guilano Frano.

New England Revolution: Brad Knighton; Jeremy Hall (Kevin Alston 46', Andrew Farrell (Darrius Barnes 46'), Jose Goncalves (London Woodberry 46'), Chris Tierney (Marco Fenelus 46'); Daigo Kobayashi (Tyler Rudy 46'), Scott Caldwell (Steve Neumann 46'); Teal Bunbury (Sean Okoli 46'), Kelyn Rowe (Timi Mulgrew 46'), Diego Fagundez; Juan Agudelo (Charlie Davies 46').

Substitutes not used: Tomas Gomez.