CenturyLink Field 151022

Seattle to host U.S. Women's National Team as part of Tournament of Nations

SEATTLE, WASH. – U.S. Soccer and the U.S. Women’s National Team today announced that CenturyLink Field is hosting the opening two matches of this summer’s Tournament of Nations, a four-team elite international tournament from July 27-August 3, featuring the U.S. Women’s National Team, Australia, Brazil and Japan. Seattle is hosting a doubleheader on the opening day of the competition on Thursday, July 27, beginning with Brazil vs. Japan at 4:15 p.m. PT before the USWNT takes on Australia at 7:00 p.m. PT.

2017 Sounders FC Season Ticket Members are eligible to purchase tickets for the Tournament of Nations during an exclusive private sale on Thursday, May 25. More information on this pre-sale is being communicated at a later date via email. Tickets for the doubleheader in Seattle go on sale to the public on Friday, May 26, at 10:00 a.m. PT through ussoccer.com, by calling 1-800-745-3000 or via the CenturyLink Field Northwest Box Office. For complete information on tickets for the rest of the 2017 Tournament of Nations, visit ussoccer.com.

After hosting the SheBelieves Cup last March, the U.S. once again welcomes three of the world’s top women’s teams for a round-robin tournament that features three doubleheaders. The USWNT currently ranks second in the world, with Japan tied for sixth, Australia ranking eighth and Brazil ninth. U.S. Soccer is planning on hosting this tournament every summer during years that do not feature a FIFA World Cup or Olympic Games. Next year’s 2018 tournament is set to feature the same four teams.

In the 2017 Tournament of Nations, each of the four teams participates in three doubleheader events at three different venues over an eight-day period. The matchdays see Brazil open against Japan on Thursday, July 27 at CenturyLink Field in Seattle (4:15 p.m. PT), followed by the USWNT against Australia (7:00 p.m. PT / ESPN). All the teams will then travel to down to San Diego, where Japan is facing Australia on Sunday, July 30 (2:15 p.m. PT) followed by the U.S. taking on Brazil (5:00 p.m. PT / ESPN2) at Qualcomm Stadium. The tournament finishes on Thursday, August 3, at StubHub Center as Australia takes on Brazil (4:15 p.m. PT) and the U.S. faces Japan (7:00 p.m. PT / ESPN2).

The winner of the tournament is based on total points over the three matches, with the first tiebreaker being overall goal difference, followed by most total tournament goals scored, then head-to-head result and lastly, FIFA Ranking if necessary.


Thursday, July 27th - CenturyLink Field

  • Brazil vs. Japan - 4:15 p.m.
  • USA vs. Australia - 7:00 p.m. (ESPN)

Sunday, July 30th - Qualcomm Stadium

  • Japan vs. Australia - 2:15 p.m.
  • USA vs. Brazil - 5:00 p.m. (ESPN2)

Thursday, August 3 - StubHub Center

  • Australia vs. Brazil - 4:15 p.m.
  • USA vs. Japan - 7:00 p.m. (ESPN2)