Press Release

MATCH RECAP: Tacoma Defiance Defeats Real Monarchs 2-1 at Zions Bank Stadium Friday Evening


HERRIMAN, UTAH – Tacoma Defiance (4-1-1, 14 points) defeated Real Monarchs (3-4-0, 9 points) 2-1 Friday evening at Zions Bank Stadium. Eythor Bjørgolfsson and Braudilio Rodrigues both scored goals for Tacoma to send the side home with all three points.

After an Abdoulaye Cissoko penalty was saved in the first half, Real Monarchs scored first in the 61st minute. Duncan Jarvie received a pass in the area and chipped the ball over the outstretched hands of Tacoma’s Wallis Lapsley to open the scoring.

Bjørgolfsson equalized just five minutes later, getting his head on a Blake Bowen cross from point-blank range. It was the striker’s second goal of the year and Bowen’s first assist. The assist marked Bjørgolfsson's first of the year.

Rodrigues scored his third goal of the season to give Tacoma a late 2-1 lead in the 88th minute. The Portugese international gathered a pass from Bjørgolfsson inside the area, cut to the right and launched a shot past the far post and into the back of the net.

Following today’s result, Wade Webber’s side returns to Starfire Stadium to take on Minnesota United FC 2 on Sunday, May 14 (8:00 p.m. PT /


Tacoma Defiance 2 – Real Monarchs 1

Friday, May 5, 2023

Venue: Zions Bank Stadium

Referee: Melvin Rivas

Assistants: Robbie Kosinski, Bennett Savage

Fourth official: Patricia McCracken

Weather: 48 degrees and mostly cloudy


SLC – Duncan Jarvie (Gilberto Garcia) 61’

TAC – Eythor Bjørgolfsson (Blake Bowen) 66’

TAC – Braudilio Rodrigues (Eythor Bjørgolfsson) 88’


SLC – Fernando Delgado (caution) 38'

TAC – Hal Udertiz (caution) 42'

TAC – Travian Sousa (caution) 43'

SLC – Cayne Madhlongove (caution) 45+3'

TAC – Abdoulaye Cissoko (caution) 59'

SLC – Amferny Arias (caution) 77'

TAC – Blake Bowen (caution)

TAC – Fito Ovalle (caution)


Tacoma Defiance – Wallis Lapsley; Blake Bowen (Sebastian Gomez, 82'), Hal Uderitz – captain, Abdoulaye Cissoko, Travian Sousa (Stuart Hawkins, 61'); Frank Daroma (Fito Ovalle, 61'), Josh Atencio (Gio Miglietti, 78'), Paul Rothrock, Georgi Minoungou (Antonio Herrera, 61'); Eythor Bjørgolfsson

Substitutes not used: Mo Shour, Elias Katsaros

Real Monarchs – Fernando Delgado; Marcus Vazquez, Delentz Pierre, Omar Alba, Cayne Madhlangove; Griffin Dillon, Amferny Arias, Tyrone Mondi (Duncan Jarvie, 29’), Gilberto Garcia (Marcelo Mondragon, 86'), Terron Williams, Seth Powder (Preston Allen, 90')

Substitutes not used: Derrek Chan, Nicholas Nobles, Gershon Henry, Dominic Berrios