Press Release

MATCH RECAP: Tacoma Defiance Routs Earthquakes II 6-1 at Cheney Stadium


TACOMA, WASH. – Tacoma Defiance (6-2-3, 23 points) defeated Earthquakes II (3-5-2, 12 points) 6-1 Saturday evening at Cheney Stadium. A flurry of six goals from six different Defiance players sealed the dominant win over the Bay Area side as Tacoma continues to climb the Western Conference standings. It was Defiance's seventh consecutive game without a loss (5-0-2) and fourth consecutive win.

After Tacoma drew a foul in the area following a hard tackle by Earthquakes II goalkeeper Eric De La Cerda, Marlon Vargas converted from the spot for the second match in a row to go up 1-0 in the 13th minute. Moments later, Ethan Dobbelaere doubled the score when Vargas dropped a pass to the edge of the area to the feet of the midfielder, whose shot deflected off the post and in at the 20-minute mark. In the 34th minute, it was Abdoulaye Cissoko who bagged Tacoma’s third goal of the first half when he smashed home a deflected ball off a corner kick.

Joe Hafferty kept the scoring going in the second half for Defiance, teeing up a shot from outside the area that De La Cera watched sail by as Tacoma took the 4-0 lead. Moments later, Hal Udertiz scored from distance off a set piece, rifling a shot that took a deflection and snuck into the bottom corner of the net for Tacoma’s fifth of the night. After Tacoma won another penalty, it was Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez who bagged his seventh goal of the season on the ensuing spot-kick.

Earthquakes II pulled one back in the 73rd minute when Diego Otoya converted from the spot.

After two games at Cheney Stadium, Wade Webber’s side crosses the Canadian border next weekend to take on Whitecaps FC 2 on Sunday, June 12 (2:00p.m. PT /


Tacoma Defiance 6 – Earthquakes II 1

Saturday, June 4, 2022

Venue: Cheney Stadium

Referee: Gustavo Barrientos

Weather: 60 degrees and cloudy


TAC – Marlon Vargas (penalty) 13’

TAC – Ethan Dobbelaere (Marlon Vargas) 20’

TAC – Abdoulaye Cissoko 34’

TAC – Joe Hafferty 50’

TAC – Hal Uderitz 54’

TAC – Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez (penalty) 63’

SJ – Diego Otoya (penalty)


SJ – Eric De La Cerda (caution) 13’

TAC – Randy Mendoza (caution) 30’

SJ – Nathan Scott (caution) 53’


Tacoma Defiance – Andrew Thomas, Cody Baker, Achille Robin, Abdoulaye Cissoko (Hal Uderitz 52’), Randy Mendoza – captain (Joe Hafferty HT), Danny Leyva (Fito Ovalle 77’), Sota Kitahara, Ethan Dobbelaere, Marlon Vargas (Juan Alvarez 52’), Dylan Teves (Georgi Minoungou 57’), Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez (Alfred Gombe-Fei 71’)

Substitutes not used: Wallis Lapsley, Valentin Sabella, Travian Sousa

Total shots: 18

Shots on goal: 10

Fouls: 14

Offside: 1

Corner-kicks: 6

Saves: 3

Earthquakes II – Eric De La Cerda, Omar Lemus, Israel Carrillo Perez, Drew Murray, Martin Kwende Jr. (Benjamin Asiaba 73’), Nathan Scott (Alex Chow 82’), Eduardo Blancas Maravilla (Cruz Medina 57’), Jerry Ayon (Niko Tsarkiris 57’), Maximillian Arfsten, Erick Reyes Alvardo (Nathan Rodrigues 82’), Rodolfo Castro Jr. (Diego Otoya 73’)

Substitutes not used: None

Total shots: 9

Shots on goal: 4

Fouls: 9

Offside: 1

Corner-kicks: 2

Saves: 4