Press Release

MATCH RECAP: Tacoma Defiance Wins 4-1 Over Houston Dynamo 2 at Starfire Stadium


TUKWILA, WASH. – Tacoma Defiance (2-2-2, 9 points) defeated Houston Dynamo 2 (5-1-0, 15 points) 4-1 Sunday afternoon at Starfire Stadium. Abdoulaye Cissoko scored his first goals of the season while Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez bagged his sixth of the year to claim all three points.

Tacoma opened the scoring in the 26th minute courtesy of Cissoko, who found the ball at his feet after a deflected set piece and smashed it into the top of the net.

Ocampo-Chavez found the back of the net in the 52nd minute, sliding to make contact on a low cross sent in by Joe Hafferty from the right flank for his league-leading sixth strike of the year. Cissoko completed his brace from the spot, converting a penalty in the 74th minute after substitute Marlon Vargas drew a hard foul inside the area. The brace marked Cissoko’s first goals of the year for Tacoma.

Houston got one back in the 80th minute via Papa N’Doye, who recorded his third goal of the year. Tacoma added one more in second half stoppage time when Valentin Sabella streaked down the left flank on a breakaway, slotting the ball into the net to seal the victory.

Wade Webber’s side now hits the road for a rematch with North Texas SC on Sunday, May 8 (2:00p.m. PT /


Tacoma Defiance 4 – Houston Dynamo 2 1

Sunday, May 1, 2022

Venue: Starfire Stadium

Referee: Calin Radosav

Weather: 61 and mostly cloudy


TAC – Abdoulaye Cissoko 26’

TAC – Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez (Joe Hafferty) 52’

TAC – Abdoulaye Cissoko (penalty) 74’

HOU – Papa N’Doye 80’

TAC – Valentin Sabella 90+4’


TAC – Randy Mendoza (caution) 35’

TAC – Joe Hafferty (caution) 39’

TAC – Abdoulaye Cissoko (caution) 45+1’

TAC – Dylan Teves (caution) 63’

TAC – Sam Adeniran (caution) 70’


Tacoma Defiance – Andrew Thomas, Joe Hafferty, Achille Robin, Abdoulaye Cissoko, Randy Mendoza – captain, Adolfo Ovalle, Josh Atencio, Dylan Teves (Juan Alvarez 68’), Sota Kitahara (Marlon Vargas 60’), Sam Adeniran (Valentin Sabella 77’), Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez

Substitutes not used: Wallis Lapsley, Hal Uderitz, Georgi Minoungou, Alfred Gombe-Fei, Eric Kinzner, Travian Sousa

Total shots: 15

Shots on goal: 9

Fouls: 22

Offside: 3

Corner-kicks: 2

Saves: 1

Houston Dynamo 2 – Xavier Valdez, Ian Hoffman, Sterling Penniston-John (Michael dos Santos Silva HT), Talen Maples – captain, Mujeeb Murana (Reese Miller 61’), Marcelo Palomino, Paulo Lima (Juan Andres Castilla Lozano 56’), Jacob Evans, Jathan Juarez (Cesar Cordova 60’), Alberto Avila, Papa N’Doye

Substitutes not used: Andrew Pennenberg, Erick Monge, Diego Gonzalez, D’Alessandro Herrera

Total shots: 9

Shots on goal: 2

Fouls: 6

Offside: 5

Corner-kicks: 6

Saves: 3