Press Release

Tacoma Defiance Draws 1-1 with North Texas SC Saturday Evening at Starfire Stadium


TUKWILA, WASH. – Tacoma Defiance (1-0-1, 4 points) drew North Texas SC (1-0-1, 5 points) 1-1 Saturday evening at Starfire Stadium, with the visitors taking an extra point by winning the penalty kick shootout that followed regulation. Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez scored the lone goal for the home side, giving him three goals for Defiance in the opening two matches of the season.

Tacoma opened the scoring in the 27th minute, with Marlon Vargas crossing from the right side of the 18-yard-box and finding the head of Ocampo-Chavez, who guided it into the left side of the net to take the early lead. Defiance held its lead until the 70th minute, when North Texas SC’s Hope Avayeva assisted Bernard Kamungo for an equalizer past Defiance goalkeeper Wyatt Nelson at the near post.

Per MLS NEXT Pro league rules, the match went to penalty kicks after 90 minutes of level action between the two sides. North Texas edged Tacoma 6-5 in the shootout, giving the visitors an extra point from the match.

Following tonight’s result, Wade Webber’s side hits the road for the first time this season to take on St. Louis City 2 on Sunday, April 10 (5:00 p.m. PT /



Tacoma Defiance 1 (5) – North Texas SC 1 (6)

Saturday, April 2, 2022

Venue: Starfire Stadium

Referee: Christopher Calderon

Weather: 54 and partly cloudy


TAC – Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez (Marlon Vargas) 27’

NTX – Bernard Kamungo (Hope Avayevu) 70’


TAC – Sam Adeniran (saved)

NTX – Derek Waldeck (scored)

TAC – Marlon Vargas (scored)

NTX – Blake Pope (saved)

TAC – Danny Leyva (scored)

NTX – Collin Smith (scored)

TAC – Dylan Teves (scored)

NTX – Luis Miguel Cardoso Santos (scored)

TAC – Randy Mendoza (scored)

NTX – Bernard Kamungo (scored)

TAC – Hal Uderitz (scored)

NTX – Lucas Barlett (scored)

TAC – Sota Kitahara (missed)

NTX – Isaiah Paker (scored)


TAC – Randy Mendoza (caution) 89’


Tacoma Defiance – Wyatt Nelson, Dylan Teves, Hal Uderitz, Eric Kinzner, Randy Mendoza, Marlon Vargas, Danny Leyva, Sam Adeniran, Juan Alvarez (Sota Kitahara 66’), Reed Baker-Whiting (Valentin Sabella 76’), Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez (Travian Sousa 88’)

Substitutes not used: Wallis Lapsley, Achille Robin

Total shots: 14

Shots on goal: 6

Fouls: 14

Offside: 1

Corner-kicks: 4

Saves: 6

North Texas SC – Antonio Carrera, Blake Pope, Lucas Bartlett, Chase Niece (Paul Bello Amedume 76’), Isaiah Parker, Blaine Ferri (Tarik Scott 66’), Derek Waleck, Santiago Ferreira, Pablo Torre (Collin Smith 66’), Hope Avayevu (Luis Migues Cardoso Santos 81’), Bernard Kamungo

Substitutes not used: Seth Wilson, Paul Bello Amedume, Tómas Lacerda

Total shots: 15

Shots on goal: 7

Fouls: 8

Offside: 0

Corner-kicks: 0

Saves: 4