Press Release

Sounders FC Announces Roster Decisions to Conclude 2023 Season


SEATTLE, WASH. – Seattle Sounders FC today announced that it is exercising the 2024 contract options of 10 players, putting the club’s current roster at 22 contracted players heading into next season. Following the conclusion of Seattle’s 2023 campaign, the Rave Green have now officially entered the 2023-2024 offseason, with preparations underway for next year.

“While it wasn’t the ending we were all hoping for, I’m proud of the squad for a successful season. I’d like to thank our players and coaches for their hard work, as well as our support staff for their efforts throughout the campaign,” said General Manager & Chief Soccer Officer Craig Waibel. “It’s our job now to hit the ground running this offseason and make the necessary moves to improve our roster for 2024 and beyond.”

The following players saw their options exercised for 2024: Josh Atencio, Xavier Arreaga, Jacob Castro, Yeimar Gómez Andrade, João Paulo, Jackson Ragen, Paul Rothrock, Albert Rusnák, Dylan Teves and Andrew Thomas. Twelve additional players are under contract for next season, including Cody Baker, Reed Baker-Whiting, Léo Chú, Stuart Hawkins, Sota Kitahara, Danny Leyva, Jordan Morris, Nouhou, Alex Roldan, Cristian Roldan, Raúl Ruidíaz and Obed Vargas.

Sounders FC has declined the contract options for Stefan Cleveland, Ethan Dobbelaere and Héber. Additionally, Abdoulaye Cissoko, Stefan Frei, Nicolás Lodeiro, Fredy Montero and Kelyn Rowe are out of contract.

Sounders FC finished the 2023 regular season second in the Western Conference with 53 points (14-9-11), advancing to the Western Conference Semifinals before falling 1-0 to LAFC. The club heads into the offseason with its sights set on the 2024 campaign, which kicks off early next year.


GOALKEEPERS (2): Jacob Castro, Andrew Thomas

DEFENDERS (7): Yeimar Gómez Andrade, Xavier Arreaga, Cody Baker, Stuart Hawkins, Nouhou, Jackson Ragen, Alex Roldan

MIDFIELDERS (11): Josh Atencio, Reed Baker-Whiting, Léo Chú, João Paulo, Sota Kitahara, Danny Leyva, Cristian Roldan, Paul Rothrock, Albert Rusnák, Dylan Teves, Obed Vargas

FORWARDS (2): Jordan Morris, Raúl Ruidíaz



Grab your tickets and celebrate our 50th Anniversary Season!

2024 Pick ’Em Plan

2024 Pick ’Em Plan

Pick your matches and unlock exclusive benefits such as on-field experiences, upgrades, pre-sales, and more!