Press Release

Sounders FC wins 2019 MLS Cup with 3-1 win over Toronto FC

MLS Cup 11/10/19

SEATTLE, WASH. - Sounders FC won the 2019 MLS Cup on Sunday afternoon with a 3-1 win over Toronto FC at CenturyLink Field. Kelvin Leerdam, Víctor Rodríguez and Raúl Ruidíaz all scored for Seattle as the Rave Green captured its second championship in four seasons. Seattle previously won the 2016 title before falling in 2017, both against Toronto at BMO Field.

Today's raucous crowd of 69,274 provided the largest standalone attendance for a sporting event in the history of CenturyLink Field, surpassing the Seattle Seahawks' previous record of 69,190 on November 20, 2016 against the Philadelphia Eagles. Additionally, the crowd is also the largest for a soccer match in the history of Washington state.

After a cagey first half that produced eight total shots for the Rave Green but no goals, Kelvin Leerdam sent those fans into a frenzy in the 57th minute with the game's initial strike, on an assist from Raúl Ruidíaz. Rodríguez, who earned MLS Cup MVP honors, made it 2-0 in the 76th minute with a strike from the top of the area, with assists from Nicolás Lodeiro and Gustav Svensson. Svensson again provided the service for the Ruidíaz's strike in the 90th minute, giving the Peruvian seven goals and four assists in six career postseason games. Jozy Altidore pulled one back for Toronto in second half stoppage time, but Sounders FC came away with a 3-1 victory.

Media and fans should be advised that Sounders FC is set to hold its MLS Cup Champions Parade and Rally, Presented by Premera Blue Cross, on Tuesday, November 12. The event will follow roughly the same path as 2016's celebration, with the Parade element departing from Westlake Park at 12:00 p.m. PT, followed by the Rally portion at Seattle Center at roughly 1:30 p.m. PT.

Full details regarding timing, locations and the march route are being made available tomorrow in conjunction with the City of Seattle and other civic constituents. Media planning to attend should RSVP with Kelly Schutz of Sounders FC Communications [].


  • Sounders FC today won its second MLS Cup in team history. Seattle also defeated Toronto FC in the 2016 MLS Cup at BMO Field.

  • Seattle is now 15-2-3 all-time at home in the playoffs, including 12-0-0 in its last 12 matches.
  • Sounders FC today won its 12th consecutive match in the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs at CenturyLink Field. The streak matches the longest in league history with D.C. United, which won its first 12 playoff home games in club history. The Sounders FC winning streak started on November 30, 2014, with a Western Conference Championship second leg victory vs. the LA Galaxy.
  • Today's crowd of 69,274 was the highest-attended sporting event in CenturyLink Field history. It also became the highest-attended soccer match in the history of Washington state.

  • Ruidíaz has now recorded seven goals and four assists in six career postseason appearances. He owns 28 goals in 42 appearances across all competitions since coming to Seattle last summer.

  • Rodríguez tallied the second goal of his postseason career and earned match MVP honors. The marker was his third of the season and first since June 5 at Montreal.

  • Leerdam's goal was his first in 11 career postseason appearances. He scored a career-high six goals in 32 total games this season.


Seattle Sounders FC 3 - Toronto FC 1
Sunday, November 10, 2019

Venue: CenturyLink Field
Referee: Allen Chapman
Assistants: Brian Dunn, Corey Rockwell
Fourth Official: Rubiel Vazquez
Attendance: 69,274
Weather: 53 degrees and cloudy


SEA - Kelvin Leerdam (Raúl Ruidíaz) 57'
SEA - Víctor Rodríguez (Nicolás Lodeiro, Gustav Svensson) 76'
SEA - Raúl Ruidíaz (Gustav Svensson) 90'
TOR - Jozy Altidore (Alejandro Pozuelo) 90'+3'


TOR - Alejandro Pozuelo (caution) 72'
SEA - Raúl Ruidíaz (caution) 90'+1'


Seattle Sounders FC - Stefan Frei; Kelvin Leerdam, Román Torres, Kim Kee-Hee, Brad Smith (Víctor Rodríguez 61'); Gustav Svensson, Cristian Roldan; Joevin Jones, Nicolás Lodeiro - captain, Jordan Morris (Jordy Delem 85'); Raúl Ruidíaz (Xavier Arreaga 90'+2')

Substitutes not used: Bryan Meredith, Nouhou, Luis Silva, Harry Shipp

Total shots: 14 (Ruidíaz, 5)
Shots on goal: 6 (Ruidíaz, 2)
Fouls: 9 (Kee-hee/C. Roldan, 2)
Offside: 3 (Three players, 1)
Corner-kicks: 10 (Lodeiro, 10)
Saves: 4 (Frei, 4)

Toronto FC - Quentin Westberg; Auro, Chris Mavinga, Omar Gonzalez, Justin Morrow; Marco Delgado, Michael Bradley - captain, Jonathan Osorio (Richie Laryea 77'); Tsubasa Endoh (Nick DeLeon 62'), Alejandro Pozuelo, Nicloas Benezet (Jozy Altidore 68')

Substitutes not used: Alex Bono, Laurent Ciman, Erickson Gallardo, Patrick Mullins

Total shots: 14 (Benezet, 4)
Shots on goal: 5 (Benezet, 2)
Fouls: 8 (Mavinga, 2)
Offside: 0
Corner-kicks: 4 (Pozuelo, 4)
Saves: 4 (Westberg, 4)



Grab your tickets and celebrate our 50th Anniversary Season!



Pick your matches and unlock exclusive benefits such as merchandise, on-field experiences, Suite upgrades, and more!

2024 Season Memberships

2024 Season Memberships

Our 50th Anniversary season meets our most fan-friendly membership yet.