Sigi Schmid hero shot 10-19-2015
Sounders land four on Pac-12 Men's Soccer All-Century Team -

The Pac-12 Conference named Sigi Schmid as its mens soccer Coach of the Century on Monday night, and three former Pac-12 players with Sounders FC ties made the conference’s prestigious All-Century Team.

Schmid led UCLA to three NCAA championships (1985, 1990, 1997) and posted a career record of 322-63-33 over 19 seasons with the Bruins. He was also named the national Coach of the Year in 1984 and 1997 and is still the winningest coach in UCLA history. He led the Bruins to 16 consecutive postseason appearances while on campus between 1980-1998.

Sounders Sporting Director Chris Henderson was also named the All-Century Team as a midfielder after starring for Schmid and UCLA (1989-90), and assistant coach Ante Razov was also named to the team as a forward after his four-year career with Schmid and the Bruins (1992-95).

Henderson was named an All-American and won a national title at UCLA as a sophomore in 1990, while Razov finished his college career with 40 goals and 29 assists with the Bruins, leading the team in scoring twice.

Nine starting players and four reserves on the All-Century Team played under Schmid at UCLA, including goalkeeper Brad Friedel, who was named Player of the Century.

Sounders defender Chad Marshall was named as a reserve defender to the All-Century team after two seasons at Stanford (2002-03). He started 39 games for the Cardinal, including the 2002 NCAA Men’s College Cup final.

Pac-12 Men’s Soccer All-Century Team
STARTING XI (4-3-3 Formation)

Ante Razov (UCLA, 1992-95)
Billy Thompson (UCLA, 1986-90)
Robbie Findley (Oregon State, 2003-06)

Joe-Max Moore (UCLA, 1990-92)
Cobi Jones (UCLA, 1988-91)
Chris Henderson (UCLA, 1989-90)

Carlos Bocanegra (UCLA, 1997-99)
Paul Caligiuri (UCLA, 1982-86)
Ryan Nelsen (Stanford, 1999-00)
Frankie Hejduk (UCLA, 1992-94)

Brad Friedel (UCLA, 1990-92)


FORWARD (3): Danny Mwanga (Oregon State, 2008-09); Ted Rafalovich (Stanford, 1978-81); Calen Carr (California, 2002-05)
MIDFIELD (4): Leo Stolz (UCLA, 2012-14); Eddie Lewis (UCLA, 1992-95); Dale Ervine (UCLA, 1982-85); C.J. Klaas (Washington, 2001-04)
DEFENSE (3): Steve Birnbaum (California, 2010-13); A.J. Soares (California 2007-10); Chad Marshall (Stanford, 2002-03)
GOALKEEPER (2): Matt Reis (UCLA, 1994-97); Nick Rimando (UCLA, 1997-99)

Pac-12 Men’s Soccer Player of the Century
Brad Friedel (UCLA, 1990-92)

Pac-12 Men’s Soccer Coach of the Century
Sigi Schmid (UCLA, 1980-98)    



Watch the Kings of Concacaf take on the rest of MLS this season! Get your single match tickets today.



The Seattle Sounders are the first MLS club to win the Concacaf Champions League. Join the Sounders Family.