Stage 2 ReEntry Preview Image

RAVE REPORT: Previewing Stage 2 of the Re-Entry Draft

Big names are still available, while Houston and Toronto add defenders in trades.

Stage 1 of the Re-Entry Draft has typically been a light hors d’oeuvre when compared with the main course that is Stage 2. If that is the case this year, then there should be plenty of movement around the league on Wednesday when the remaining players who are eligible can be selected in the noon PT draft.

Several players who would have been eligible for the draft have moved via trade, including Kenny Cooper to Sounders FC last week, but there are still plenty of recognizable names and players who would at the very least qualify as serviceable to teams around the league.

In 2010, Stage 2 saw Colombian superstar Juan Pablo Angel move from the New York Red Bulls to the LA Galaxy in the highest profile move. Josh Wolff also went to DC United, Jimmy Conrad to Chivas USA, Jeff Cunningham to the Columbus Crew – where he would break the league’s all-time scoring record – and Tyrone Marshall went to the Colorado Rapids, among other moves.

Twelve players moved in Stage 2 in 2011, though they weren’t as notable as the 2010 moves. Marc Burch came to Seattle that year and started in 32 of his 49 appearances over two seasons, registering seven assists. This year, he was taken in Stage 1 by the Colorado Rapids.

In 2012, 14 players were chosen, including Conor Casey going to the Philadelphia Union where he was a finalist for Comeback Player of the Year after notching 10 goals and five assists in 31 matches.

Among those still on the board are forwards Fabian Espindola (New York Red Bulls) and Dwayne De Rosario (DC United); midfielders Joel Lindpere (Chicago Fire) and David Ferreira (FC Dallas); and defender Heath Pearce.

Available players
Chicago Fire: Shaun Francis, Joel Lindpere, Maicon Santos, Wells Thompson and Michael Videira.
Chivas USA: Ante Jazic, Steve Purdy and Josue Soto.
Colorado Rapids: Steward Ceus, Brian Mullan and Jamie Smith.
Columbus Crew: Danny O’Rourke and Konrad Warzycha.
DC United: Dwayne De Rosario, James Riley, Carlos Ruiz, Marcelo Saragosa and Daniel Woolard.
FC Dallas: David Ferreira and Ugo Ihemelu.
Houston Dynamo: Calen Carr, Alex Dixon and Cam Weaver.
LA Galaxy: Colin Clark, Laurent Courtois and Pablo Mastroeni.
Montreal Impact: Sinisa Ubiparipovic.
New England Revolution: Chad Barrett, Ryan Guy, Clyde Simms and Juan Toja.
New York Red Bulls: Brandon Barklage, Fabian Espindola, Kevin Hartman and Heath Pearce.
Philadelphia Union: Chris Albright.
Portland Timbers: Ryan Miller.
Real Salt Lake: Brandon McDonald, Josh Saunders and Khari Stephenson.
Seattle Sounders FC: Blair Gavin.
San Jose Earthquakes: Nana Attakora, Mehdi Ballouchy, Dan Gargan and Evan Newton.
Toronto FC: Justin Braun.
Vancouver Whitecaps FC: Joe Cannon and Corey Hertzog.

Just one week after sending Andrew Jean-Baptiste to Chivas USA in a trade, the Portland Timbers parted ways with another center back on Tuesday, trading David Horst to the Houston Dynamo in exchange for a fourth-round pick in the 2014 MLS SuperDraft.

Horst missed most of the 2013 season because of injury, but played in 39 matches over three seasons with the Timbers. The six-year MLS veteran started his career with Real Salt Lake, but played just three matches in three seasons with RSL.
Though coming off an injury, he will add depth at the center back spot for Houston after the Dynamo lost Bobby Boswell in the Re-Entry Draft last week.

In another move sending a Western Conference defender to the Eastern Conference, Toronto FC acquired Justin Morrow from the San Jose Earthquakes for allocation money.

While just a role player with San Jose in his first two seasons, Morrow came into his own in 2012, making 33 starts and earning a cap with the U.S. National Team in the process. Last year, he made just 21 starts and was supplanted in the starting lineup by Jordan Stewart late in the season.

Morrow joins an influx of talent at Toronto, who added Designated Player Gilberto at forward and former FC Dallas midfielder Jackson to upgrade the attack.