Clint Dempsey vs. Mexico 10-11-2015

Sounders FC's Clint Dempsey returns from USMNT roster, Brad Evans stays on

Sounders FC forward Clint Dempsey will return to the club this week after logging 120 minutes with the U.S. national team in Saturday’s dramatic CONCACAF Cup loss to Mexico.

U.S. Soccer announced Sunday that Dempsey and seven other players from MLS squads have been released from camp ahead of the Americans’ international friendly against Costa Rica on Tuesday at at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, N.J.

Dempsey finished with one shot on a relatively quiet night against Mexico, the 10th appearance against El Tri of his international career.

Sounders midfielder/defender Brad Evans, meanwhile, will stay on with the USMNT for the Costa Rica game after logging nine minutes of relief duty at right back during extra time against El Tri on Saturday night at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif. The teams’ combined for three goals in the dramatic 30-minute extra session, with Paul Aguilar’s right-footed volley in the 118th minute handing Mexico a 3-2 win and a berth in the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia.

Former Sounders defender DeAndre Yedlin will also stay on with Klinsmann's squad after logging 42 minutes off the bench at right midfielder and assisting on a goal to Bobby Wood in the 108th minute.

The Sounders return to action from the bye week with a huge matchup on the road against the Houston Dynamo on Oct. 18. Seattle can clinch a berth in the MLS postseason for the seventh consecutive season with a win.

With the USMNT’s latest changes, the roster stands at 21 players heading into the USA's final match before the start of qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. Kickoff for the contest against Costa Rica on Tuesday is set for 3:30 pm PT, and the match will be shown live on ESPN, WatchESPN, UniMas and Univision Deportes Network.

GOALKEEPERS (3) : Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/ENG), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Everton/ENG)

DEFENDERS (7) : Ventura Alvarado (Club America/MEX), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Monchenglandbach/GER), Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana/MEX), Tim Ream (Fulham FC/ENG), Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City FC/ENG)

MIDFIELDERS (7) : Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/FRA), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), Danny Williams (Reading FC/ENG), DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland AFC/ENG)

FORWARDS (4) : Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Bobby Wood (Union Berlin/GER), Andrew Wooten (FC Sandhausen/GER), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)