Seattle Sounders at San Jose Earthquakes starting lineup: Clint Dempsey, Roman Torres return to Starting XI

The Seattle Sounders are taking on the San Jose Earthquakes at Avaya Stadium on Saturday (7:30 p.m. PT; Q13 FOX, Univision, KIRO Radio 97.3 FM, El Rey 1360AM). Here is the Sounders’ Starting XI, presented by Delta:

FORMATION: 4-2-3-1

GK: Frei (24)

RB: Fisher (91)
CB: Torres (29)
CB: Marshall (14)
LB: Jones (33)

CM: Alonso (6) – Captain
CM: Roldan (7)

RM: Lodeiro (10)
AM: Dempsey (2)
LM: Shipp (19)

FW: Morris (13)


GK: Meredith (35)

D: Alfaro (15)

D: Svensson (4)

M: Delem (21)

M: Wingo (23)

M: Fernandez (8)

F: Bruin (17)


- Clint Dempsey and Roman Torres return to the Starting XI after resting against Atlanta United last Friday following international duty. Dempsey entered in the second half against Atlanta, while Torres did not play.

- Former Earthquakes goalkeeper Bryan Meredith returns to San Jose as Stefan Frei’s backup while Tyler Miller started for Sounders FC 2 for their USL match in Vancouver on Saturday.

- Oniel Fisher earns his second start of the season right back after sitting versus Atlanta last week while recovering from a hamstring injury.