Cheney Stadium, March 2019
Charis Wilson

Tacoma Defiance signs midfielder Herbert Robinson Garcia

TACOMA, WASH. - Tacoma Defiance today announced that it has signed midfielder Herbert Robinson Garcia and defender Abdoulaye Cissoko. Cissoko's signing is pending the receipt of his P1 Visa. Garcia joins the club from Coyotes de Tlaxcala in Liga Premier in Mexico. Additionally, Cissoko has been loaned to San Diego 1904 FC of the NISA for the remainder of the 2019 season, and will join the Defiance in 2020.
"Herbert is a versatile and offensive-minded midfielder with professional experience in Mexico," said Sounders FC Director of Player Development Marc Nicholls. "He fits our player profiles as he is dynamic and has the potential to be a difference maker. Abdoulaye has big upside and has the potential to be an imposing center back that is good on the ball."
Garcia, 23, scored four goals in 1,438 minutes across 25 contests this season for Coyotes de Tlaxcala of the Mexican third division. He played in 31 games for Tampico Madero from 2016-2018, making 21 starts. The midfielder netted one goal in 1,907 minutes for the club during that span.
Cissoko, 19, most recently played for San Diego Zest FC in USL League 2. From 2017-2019, Cissoko appeared in two games for Les Ulis of the French Championnat National 3 where he recorded 115 minutes.
Transaction: Tacoma Defiance signs midfielder Herbert Robinson Garcia and defender Abdoulaye Cissoko on September 6, 2019. Cissoko is loaned to San Diego 1904 FC for remainder of 2019 season.
Name: Herbert Robinson Garcia
Position: Midfielder
Height: 5-10
Weight: 148
Born: April 10, 1996 in Monclova, Mexico
Hometown: Monclova, Mexico
Citizenship: Mexico
Name: Abdoulaye Cissoko
Position: Defender
Height: 6-3
Weight: 163
Born: December 27, 1999 in France
Hometown: France
Citizenship: France
The Defiance current roster is listed below by positional breakdown.
Defenders (7): Aleks Berkolds, Nick Hinds, Matt Nance, Modou Ndow, Sam Rogers, Ever Rubio, Denso Ulysse
Midfielders (8): Josh Atencio, Herbert Robinson Garcia, Antonee Burke-Gilroy, Jesse Daley, Ben Numbi, Danny Robles, Marlon Vargas, Azriel Gonzalez
Forwards (3): Alec Diaz, Shandon Hopeau, Ray Serrano