trophies ferry 11 18
Mike Fiechtner

Washington lawmakers introduce resolution celebrating Sounders FC's 2019 MLS Cup victory

TUKWILA, WASH. – Following Seattle Sounders FC’s decisive 3-1 victory over Toronto FC for the 2019 MLS Cup title, the Rave Green were honored by Washington lawmakers in both the United States Senate and House of Representatives.

U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell (D-WA) and Patty Murray (D-WA) introduced a resolution on November 15 honoring Sounders FC on its successful season and bringing another championship to Washington state. In the U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Representatives Suzan DelBene (WA-01) and Rick Larsen (WA-02) led other Washington lawmakers in a similar resolution.

“The dedication and hard work of Seattle Sounders FC has inspired and empowered girls, boys, women, and men of all ages,” the resolution states. “We applaud the people of Seattle and the surrounding region for their enthusiastic support of Seattle Sounders FC.”

Last weekend’s title marks the second league championship won by Sounders FC in its 11 years in Major League Soccer. The game, played at CenturyLink Field in Seattle, set the record for the largest crowd at a sporting event in the 17-year history of the stadium, with nearly 70,000 enthusiastic fans packing the stands. The contest was also the most-attended soccer match in the history of Washington State.

In the resolution, the lawmakers also called attention to the team’s charitable organization, RAVE Foundation, which invests in soccer programs that inspire youth and strengthen communities across the greater Puget Sound region.

In addition to DelBene and Larsen, the House resolution was also introduced by U.S. Representatives Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-05), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Kim Schrier (WA-08), Adam Smith (WA-09), and Denny Heck (WA-10).

The full text of the resolution can be found HERE.