10 Sounders FC Academy Players Sign Letters of Intent on National Signing Day

U18 Huddle 150204

As is tradition on National Signing Day, high school athletes from around the country select their collegiate destinations. Locally, nine Sounders FC U-18 players submitted their letters of intent today to Division 1 programs, with one more slated to play community college ball.

Four U-18 Academy teammates will continue their soccer careers together by signing with the University of Washington. Defenders Ryan DeGroot and Kasey French, goalkeeper Saif Kerawala and midfielder John Magnus are all set to join Head Coach Jamie Clark’s Huskies, who recently produced new Sounders FC Homegrown Player Darwin Jones and First-Round SuperDraft pick Cristian Roldan.

“Our first priority from a soccer perspective with the Academy is to develop and sign First Team players,” said Sounders FC Academy Technical Director Marc Nicholls. “There are now several paths for the players in our program. They can sign directly to our First Team, play for S2 and go through the traditional college process. Therefore, we are delighted that these boys are going to attend some excellent soccer schools.”

Striker Sean Bowman, who is second in USSDA league play with 17 goals this season, will continue his career at the University of San Francisco. Defenders MacArthur Clarke and Kees Westra committed to San Diego State and Marquette, respectively, while midfielder Ryan Schaefer and defender Tosh Samkange join fellow Sounders FC Academy product Jordan Schweitzer at the University of Denver. Striker Khalil Ibrahim will play for Highline Community College in the fall. 

Seattle Sounders FC Academy U-18 College Commitments

F Sean Bowman – University of San Francisco
D MacArthur Clarke – San Diego State
D Ryan DeGroot – University of Washington
D Kasey French – University of Washington
F Khalil Ibrahim – Highline Community College
GK Saif Kerawala – University of Washington
M John Magnus – University of Washington
D Tosh Samkange – University of Denver
M Ryan Schaefer – University of Denver
D Kees Westra – Marquette University



Grab your tickets and celebrate our 50th Anniversary Season!

2024 Pick ’Em Plan

2024 Pick ’Em Plan

Pick your matches and unlock exclusive benefits such as on-field experiences, upgrades, pre-sales, and more!