Chad Marshall Named 2014 MLS Defender of the Year

Chad Marshall 1125

SEATTLE, WASH. – Major League Soccer announced today that Seattle Sounders FC defender Chad Marshall has been named 2014 MLS Defender of the Year. This is Marshall’s third Defender of the Year Award — the most in MLS history — after claiming the honor in 2008 and 2009 with the Columbus Crew.

“I’m very honored to be named Defender of the Year and it’s a testament to the great season we’ve had,” said Marshall. “I feel privileged to be a Sounder and I can’t thank my teammates, coaches, organization and fans enough. Defense is a team effort, so on behalf of the rest of the defenders I’m happy to accept this award.”

In his first year with Sounders FC, Marshall proved to be an invaluable part of Seattle’s backline, anchoring the defense as the club went on to capture its first-ever Supporters’ Shield and its fourth Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup title. Marshall led the league with 136 interceptions and recorded an impressive 126 headers won, 206 clearances and an 83% passing accuracy. The 11-year MLS veteran also recorded one goal — an 84th-minute winner against Philadelphia on May 3 — and matched a career high with three assists.

“I’m very happy for Chad. He has played well this season and been a great impact on our team,” said Sounders FC Head Coach Sigi Schmid. “To be the first three-time winner shows his consistent high-quality play in our league throughout his career.”

The award was voted on by media, MLS players and MLS club management based on regular season performance. The other two finalists were D.C. United defender Bobby Boswell and LA Galaxy defender Omar Gonzalez. Below is a breakdown of the voting for the top four candidates.

<strong>Weighted Total % of Votes</strong>
Chad Marshall
Seattle Sounders FC
Bobby Boswell
D.C. United
Omar Gonzalez
LA Galaxy
Michael Parkhurst
Columbus Crew

Sounders FC is up for three more 2014 MLS Postseason Awards still to be named, as the club has finalists for Volkswagen MLS MVP (Obafemi Martins), MLS Coach of the Year (Sigi Schmid) and MLS Comeback Player of the Year (Stefan Frei).

The club has previously seen four players earn MLS postseason awards. Fredy Montero was named Newcomer of the Year in 2009, Mauro Rosales Newcomer of the Year in 2011, Kasey Keller Goalkeeper of the Year in 2011 and Eddie Johnson Comeback Player of the Year in 2012.

MLS Defender of the Year Winners

2014: Chad Marshall – Seattle Sounders FC
2013: Jose Goncalves – New England Revolution
2012: Matt Besler – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Omar Gonzalez – LA Galaxy
2010: Jamison Olave – Real Salt Lake
2009: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2008: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell – D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser – Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik – Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope – D.C. United
1996: John Doyle – San Jose Earthquakes

Sounders FC MLS Postseason Awards Winners

2014: Chad Marshall – Defender of the Year
2012: Eddie Johnson – Comeback Player of the Year
2011: Kasey Keller – Goalkeeper of the Year
2011: Mauro Rosales – Newcomer of the Year
2009: Fredy Montero – Newcomer of the Year

Flex Membership

Flex Membership

The Sounders Flex Membership allows you to choose the matches you want, in the seats you want, with who you want - all at preferred pricing.

Single Match Tickets

Single Match Tickets

Single match tickets are available now. Grab your tickets and get ready to cheer on the Rave Green!

Every Match. Every Screen.

Every Match. Every Screen.

Catch every Seattle Sounders FC match on MLS Season Pass on Apple TV.