For the second time in three weeks, Sounders FC’s defense earned a shutout and had a defender recognized in the Team of the Week. DeAndre Yedlin got the honors in the first week win over Sporting Kansas City and this week it was Djimi Traore after Seattle blanked the Montreal Impact on Sunday at Olympic Stadium.

Traore was among the stoppers that kept Montreal’s shooters at bay all match and made a critical goal-line clearance in the second half that helped Stefan Frei pick up his second clean sheet of the season.

Traore was joined on Team of the Week by goalkeeper Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls); defenders Jose Goncalves (New England Revolution), Steven Caldwell (Toronto FC) and A.J. DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy); midfielders Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Dillon Powers (Colorado Rapids), Luis Castillo (FC Dallas), Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas) and Bernardo Anor (Columbus Crew); and forward Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy). Anor earned MLS Player of the Week honors for his two-goal performance against the Philadelphia Union.

Obafemi Martins was listed among honorable mention after netting his first goal of the season.

Sounders FC’s representatives on Team of the Week:
Week 1: DeAndre Yedlin.
Week 3: Djimi Traore.


On Sunday, Lamar Neagle thought he had scored his first goal of the season, only to be told after Sounders FC’s 2-0 win over the Montreal Impact that his eighth-minute header was ruled an own goal.

“Yeah, I don’t know about that. That’s a little bit ridiculous but I’m sure that Troy [Perkins] will vouch for me as well,” Neagle laughed after the match. “I don’t know who’s supposed to decide that but it’s a little bit strange.”

On Monday, Major League Soccer changed its course and awarded the goal to Neagle, his first of the season. Neagle now has one goal and one assist on the season, both awarded after the fact.


Several teams around MLS announced loans of players to lower division clubs this week, adding to a long list of MLS players out on loan in 2014. Here is a look at who is playing where among MLS loanees.

Chicago Fire – Alvaro Fernandez (Nacional in Uruguay).
Chivas USA – Gabriel Farfan (Chiapas in Mexico), Jose Erick Correa (Gimnasia in Argentina).
Colorado Rapids – Tony Cascio (Houston Dynamo)
Columbus Crew – Ryan Finley, Kevan George, Ross Friedman, Matt Walker and Brad Stuver (all to Dayton Dutch Lions in USL Pro).
DC United – Joe Willis, Conor Shanosky, Collin Martin and Christiano François (all to Richmond Kickers in USL Pro).
Houston Dynamo – Anthony Arena, Jason Johnson and Bryan Salazar (all to Pittsburgh Riverhounds in USL Pro).
LA Galaxy – Jose Villarreal (Cruz Azul in Mexico), Charlie Rugg, Oscar Sorto, Jack McBean, Rafael Garcia, Raul Mendiola and Bradford Jamieson IV (all to LA Galaxy II in USL Pro).
New England Revolution – Luis Soffner, Alec Sundly and Jossimar Sanchez (all to Rochester Rhinos in USL Pro).
Philadelphia Union – Cristhian Hernandez and Jimmy McLaughlin (both to Harrisburg City Islanders in USL Pro).
Portland Timbers – Jose Valencia (Club Olimpo in Argentina), Bryan Gallego, Aaron Long and Jake Gleeson (all to Sacramento Republic in USL Pro), Taylor Peay and Schillo Tshuma (both to Orange County Blues in USL Pro).
San Jose Earthquakes – David Bingham and Sam Garza (both to San Antonio Scorpions in USL Pro).
Seattle Sounders FC – Jimmy Ockford (New York Cosmos in NASL) and Eriq Zavaleta (Chivas USA).
Sporting Kansas City – Mikey Lopez (Orlando City SC in USL Pro), Jon Kempin and Christian Duke (both to OKC Energy in USL Pro).
Toronto FC – Quillan Roberts, Daniel Lovitz and Manny Aparicio (all to Wilmington Hammerheads in USL Pro).
Vancouver Whitecaps FC – Aminu Abdallah, Andre Lewis, Mamadou Diouf, Marlon Ramirez, Jackson Farmer and Omar Salgado (all to Charleston Battery in USL Pro).



Watch the Kings of Concacaf take on the rest of MLS this season! Get your single match tickets today.



The Seattle Sounders are the first MLS club to win the Concacaf Champions League. Join the Sounders Family.