All Star Voting Begins Image

Sounders have six representatives on the 2013 All-Star ballot

Six Sounders were nominated for consideration for the yearly exhibition on July 31 against AS Roma.

Sounders FC has had six different players named to the MLS All-Star squad for the annual mid-season exhibition match and this year they have six players on the ballot, vying for a spot on the 2013 All-Star team that will play against AS Roma at Sporting Park on July 31.

A total of 115 players were nominated by the media – six for each team except Chicago, who have their original six nominees plus Mike Magee who was added in a recent trade. For the Sounders, the nominees are Michael Gspurning, Djimi Traore, DeAndre Yedlin, Osvaldo Alonso, Mauro Rosales and Eddie Johnson.

“If you’re doing well, people are looking at why you’re doing well, who’s playing well, who’s having an impact, who’s helping the team perform,” Sounders FC head coach Sigi Schmid said. “Anytime guys get selected, I think the guys will tell you themselves it’s an individual honor, for sure, but it’s really a reflection of the team.”

Alonso and Johnson both made the All-Star team last year for the Sounders and Johnson scored the game-winning goal against Chelsea. Other Sounders All-Stars have included Fredy Montero, Kasey Keller, Freddie Ljungberg and Jhon Kennedy Hurtado.

To vote for All-Stars, visit