A Seattle Soccer Tradition


The Joe Roth Golden Scarf

In the club's inaugural 2009 MLS season, Sounders FC established a tradition that displays the intense passion of Seattle’s soccer community.

To honor that passion, the club recognizes individuals before select matches with the Golden Scarf. Sounders FC aims to honor members of the community who are either part of the soccer scene or have done remarkable things for it in Seattle.

In 2019, the Golden Scarf was renamed the Joe Roth Golden Scarf in honor of Sounders FC’s inaugural owner Joe Roth. Roth’s vision to bring MLS to Seattle and his indelible impact on Sounders FC represent the types of traits the Golden Scarf was created to recognize

The club selects a member of the community that is presented with a special gold scarf, which has come to symbolize the game of soccer, which they raise over their heads, signaling to the fans to do the same. Because of the arrangement of the ceremony, the club also has the opportunity to honor a presenter as well.

View interviews from recent recipients


Date Opponent Recipients
3/19/09 New York Red Bulls Don Garber
3/28/09 Real Salt Lake Jimmy Gabriel
4/11/09 Kansas City Wizards Robbie Bach
4/24/09 San Jose Earthquakes Jimmy McAlister
5/10/09 Los Angeles Galaxy Meredith Teague
5/30/09 Columbus Crew Jim Mora
6/13/09 San Jose Earthquakes Fred Mendoza
6/17/09 D.C. United Seattle Storm
6/28/09 Colorado Rapids Lorenzo Romar
7/11/09 Houston Dyanmo Doug Andreassen
7/18/09 Chelsea FC Dale Chihuly
7/25/09 Chicago Fire Mike Ryan
8/5/09 FC Barcelona Bill Russell
8/20/09 New England Revolution John Nordstrom
8/29/09 Toronto FC Michelle Akers
9/19/09 Chivas USA Alan Hinton
10/24/09 FC Dallas Alliance Council
10/29/09 Houston Dynamo Chris Henderson
3/25/10 Philadelphia Union Cliff McCrath
4/3/10 New York Red Bulls Tim Murray
4/17/10 Kansas City Wizards Marian Bowers
5/1/10 Columbus Crew Susan Cole
5/8/10 LA Galaxy Linda Velie
5/2210 San Jose Earthquakes Tim Busch
5/26/10 Boca Juniors Pete Fewing
6/5/10 New England Revolution Michelle French
6/10/10 DC United Bruce Benson
7/11/10 FC Dallas Roberto Alvarez
7/18/10 Celtic FC J.R. Celski
7/26/10 Colorado Rapids Teddy Mitalas
8/8/10 Houston Dynamo Washington Special Olympics Soccer Team
8/28/10 Chicago Fire Electron Boy
9/9/10 Real Salt Lake Hans Stieirle
10/2/10 Toronto FC Jennifer Westhagen
10/12/10 CD Guadalajara Exequiel Soltero
10/15/10 Chivas USA Hope Solo
10/31/10 LA Galaxy Chance Fry
3/15/11 LA Galaxy Gerard Schwarz
5/14/11 Portland Timbers Jeff Stock & Mark Peterson
6/11/11 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Virginia Mason
7/20/11 Machester United Bryan Robson
10/15/11 San Jose Earthquakes Kasey Keller
7/18/12 Chelsea Roger Davies
10/7/12 Portland Timbers Roger Levesque
10/21/12 FC Dallas Justice Steven Gonzalez
5/18/13 FC Dallas Pat Raney
6/8/13 Vancouver John Best
9/13/13 Real Salt Lake Brad Owen
10/27/13 LA Galaxy Bob Robertson
10/10/14 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Alan Hudson
6/20/15 San Jose Earthquakes Jason Collins
8/30/15 Portland Timbers Megan Rapinoe and Hope Solo
7/31/16 LA Galaxy Steve Zakuani
8/21/16 Portland Timbers Washington Youth Soccer
9/17/16 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Gary Wright
10/23/16 Real Salt Lake Zach Scott
6/4/17 Houston Dynamo Dr. Stephen Newby
8/20/17 Minnesota United Adrian Webster and Davey Butler
9/27/17 Vancouver Whitecaps FC Austen Everett 
10/15/17 FC Dallas Dave Gillett
3/31/18 Montreal Impact Thomas Webb
5/5/18 Columbus Crew SC Mike McCready
6/23/18 Chicago Fire Mary Harvey
7/29/18 New York City FC Andrew Lofton
9/1/18 Sporting Kansas City Clint Dempsey
3/2/19 FC Cincinnati Sigi Schmid
6/29/19 Vancouver Whitecaps Chad Marshall
7/21/19 Portland Timbers Lesle Gallimore and Amy Griffin
9/15/19 New York Red Bulls Joe Roth