MLS announces finalists for MVP, end-of-the-year awards

The race for the 2015 Landon Donovan MLS MVP award was officially narrowed down to three players on Tuesday, pitting two league veterans against one of the most electric newcomers to MLS in years.

MLS announced that Toronto FC’s Sebastian Giovinco, Columbus Crew SC’s Kei Kamara and Sporting Kansas City’s Benny Feilhaber are the final three nominees for the league MVP award. All three are up the award for the first time in their MLS careers.

Giovinco is the frontunner to claim the award after posting 22 goals and 16 assists for TFC, who reached the postseason for the first time in franchise history. The Italian international is also up for Newcomer of the Year.

Here’s a complete list of the nominees for year-end awards, released by MLS on Tuesday.

Landon Donovan MLS MVP (Announced Dec. 2):

  • Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City)
  • Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)
  • Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew SC)

MLS Coach of the Year (Announced Nov. 24):

  • Jesse Marsch (New York Red Bulls)
  • Oscar Pareja (FC Dallas)
  • Carl Robinson (Vancouver Whitecaps

MLS Newcomer of the Year (Announced Nov. 23):*

  • Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact)
  • Sebastian Giovinvo (Toronto FC)
  • Mike Grella (New York Red Bulls)

*Best player with previous professional experience who made his MLS debut in 2015.

Allstate MLS Goalkeeper of the Year (Announced Nov. 19):

  • Bill Hamid (D.C. United)
  • David Ousted (Vancouver Whitecaps)
  • Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

MLS Comeback Player of the Year (Announced Nov. 18):*

  • Tim Melia (Sporting Kansas City)
  • Will Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)
  • Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers)

*Honors a player who has overcome injuries and/or adversity in order to achieve success during the 2015 regular season.

MLS Defender of the Year (Announced Nov. 11):

  • Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact)
  • Matt Hedges (FC Dallas)
  • Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps)

AT&T Rookie of the Year (Announced Nov. 10):*

  • Fatai Alashe (San Jose Earthquakes)
  • Cyle Larin (Orlando City)
  • Matt Polster (Chicago Fire)

*Best player without previous professional experience who made his MLS debut in 2015.

MLS WORKS Humanitarian of the Year, presented by Advocare, Finalists (Nov. 5)

  • Jeb Brovsky (New York City FC)
  • Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC)
  • Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew SC)

MLS Fair Play Finalists – Individuals* (Nov. 6)

  • Nat Borchers (Portland Timbers)
  • Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers)
  • Marvell Wynne (San Jose Earthquakes)

*Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games & minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

MLS Fair Play Finalists - Teams* (Nov. 6)

  • LA Galaxy
  • Philadelphia Union
  • Seattle Sounders FC

*Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fewest fouls committed, cards received, and on subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior. 

Referee of the Year Finalists (Nov. 6)

  • Alan Kelly
  • Jair Marrufo
  • Baldomero Toledo

Assistant Referee of the Year Finalists (Nov. 6)

  • George Gansner
  • Peter Manikowski
  • Corey Parker